2024 Operator of the Year Award

Thank you to everyone who submitted, we look forward to seeing you in Buffalo!


 Recipients will be chosen on the basis of the following points of interest:

  • Years of experience
  • Skills
  • Training
  • Types of equipment operated
  • Shift/hours worked
  • Leadership attributes
  • Education/technical knowledge
  • Unique situation(s)/event(s) during the 2023-24 season
  • Any other relevant information

Each airport attending the I.A.S.S. is asked to nominate one equipment operator from their airport. A committee of four members of the Advisory Board of the I.A.S.S. will review applications prior to the event. Scores will be given to each nominee, weighing each point of interest separately. Nominees receive a discounted rate to the I.A.S.S., and are encouraged to attend. A plaque will be awarded to the operator who best reflects the spirit of Operator of the Year.

One winner will be chosen from each of the following categories of airport:
Large: Over 200,000 scheduled operations annually
Medium: 100,000 – 200,000 scheduled operations annually
Small: Less than 100,000 scheduled operations annually

Airports with winning operators will receive, in their honor, one free admission to next year’s I.A.S.S..

*No member of the voting committee will be permitted to vote on any individual with whom they either work, or have an affiliation with.


Award Archive:



  • Small Airports Category - Mike Moore, Rickenbacker International Airport
  • Medium Airports Category – Michael Schiller (BUF)
  • Military Category - Kristopher Jones, Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson



  • Small Airports Category - Mark Pickens (SBN)
  • Medium Airports Category – Sam Nevilles (BUF)
  • Large Airports Category – Cody Wasson (BOS)
  • Military Category - Jonathan Beaty (Vermont ANG at BTV)